University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Admissions Non-disclosure Appeals
Courses Accreditation
Graduate Research School
Graduate Research Students' Appeals
Institute for Sustainable Futures
Professional Experience Appeals
Teaching and Learning
Roles and contact
Responsible Academic Officers
Academic freedom
Indigenous committees
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Professional Experience Appeals Committee

A committee of Academic Board


Meetings for the Professional Experience Appeals Committee are held as required.

Committee contact

Jenny Luong
Senior Governance Support Officer (Electoral Officer)
Tel: 02 9514 1235

Composition and membership

The Chair of Academic Board appoints a chair, two academic staff members and a student member when the committee is required to meet (in accord with Rule 17.3 of the UTS Student Rules).

Composition Panel membership
Students of the University who have been enrolled at the University for at least one year and who have completed, or partially completed, professional experience course requirements Danny Mikhail, Law
Duo Song, Law
Shukla Promite, Science
Academic staff members with experience in the placement and administration of professional experience students Associate Professor Alan Parr, Engineering and Information Technology

Terms of reference

The terms of reference for the Professional Experience Appeals Committee are contained in Rule 17.3.2.

Membership term

Two-year term of office to 31 December 2022.


The Professional Experience Appeals Committee Procedures (PDF) govern the committee's operation and clarify the roles and responsibilities of committee members.

The procedures are approved by Academic Board in accordance with Rules 17.5.3 and 17.5.4 and they supplement Rules 17.5 to 17.8, which outline general procedures for all appeals committees of Academic Board.