University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Admissions Non-disclosure Appeals
Courses Accreditation
Graduate Research Students' Appeals
Higher Degree Research
Institute for Sustainable Futures
Internships Appeals
Teaching and Learning
Roles and contact
Responsible Academic Officers
Academic freedom
Indigenous committees
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Executive Committee

A committee of Academic Board

The Executive Committee is an advisory committee to the Chair of Academic Board and its committees, providing support for the business of Academic Board and ensuring that Academic Board’s work assists UTS to achieve its strategic objectives.

2021 meeting dates

Date Time Location
Tuesday 23 February 12.30pm to 1.30pm Via Zoom
Tuesday 13 April 1pm to 2pm Room 60, level 21, building 1, Broadway (CB01.21.60) and via Zoom
Tuesday 11 May 1pm to 2pm Room 60, level 21, building 1, Broadway (CB01.21.60) and via Zoom
Tuesday 6 July 12.30pm to 1.30pm Via Zoom
Tuesday 24 August (reserve) 12.30pm to 1.30pm Via Zoom
Tuesday 14 September 12.30pm to 1.30pm Via Zoom
Tuesday 26 October 12.30pm to 1.30pm Room 26, level 4A, building 1, Chancellery, Broadway (CB01.04A.26)
Tuesday 30 November 12.30pm to 1.30pm Room 26, level 4A, building 1, Chancellery, Broadway (CB01.04A.26)

Committee contact

Liezel Swart
Acting Executive Officer (Governance Support)
Tel: 02 9514 1464

Composition and membership

Composition Membership
Chair, Academic Board (as Chair) Professor Anthony Dooley
Deputy Chair, Academic Board (as Deputy Chair) Associate Professor Lynn Sinclair
University Secretary William Paterson
Chair, Courses Accreditation Committee Professor Sara Denize
Deputy Chair, Courses Accreditation Committee Associate Professor Julie Robert
Chair, Research Committee Professor Kate McGrath
Deputy Chair, Research Committee To be advised
Chair, Teaching and Learning Committee Professor Shirley Alexander
Deputy Chair, Teaching and Learning Committee Associate Professor Maxine Evers

Terms of reference

  1. Develop, monitor and review annual program of business for Academic Board (including that of the board’s committees) to ensure that Academic Board conducts business as per its terms of reference to achieve the university’s strategic objectives.
  2. Provide advice and direction to Chair of Academic Board (and its committees), in relation to business of Academic Board (and its committees).
  3. Consider urgent matters which require executive action of Chair, Academic Board (as per Council delegation) and which cannot be deferred until the next scheduled meeting of the Board.
  4. Advise Academic Board on any other matters referred to the Executive Committee by Academic Board.
  5. Monitor progress on Academic Board’s key focus areas.
  6. Determine the accreditation of proposed or existing award courses on their academic merit, and the removal of the accreditation of award courses. Any such approvals by Executive Committee of Academic Board will be reported back to Academic Board at its next meeting.

Number of meetings

The committee shall meet a minimum of four times per year and otherwise as required.


The quorum shall be one-half of the current members of the committee, if one-half is not a whole number, the next higher whole number shall be used.

Vacant positions on the committee do not count toward the total membership of which one-half is required to reach a quorum.