University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Admissions Non-disclosure Appeals
Courses Accreditation
Graduate Research Students' Appeals
Higher Degree Research
Institute for Sustainable Futures
Internships Appeals
Teaching and Learning
Roles and contact
Responsible Academic Officers
Academic freedom
Indigenous committees
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Higher Degree Research Board

A committee of Academic Board

The Higher Degree Research Board* (the board) has a dual role, operating as equivalent to a faculty board (in the Graduate Research School), dealing with matters related to the administration of research education, and as a committee of Academic Board, dealing with academic matters related to graduate research training and supervision.

*Academic Board approved the renaming of the Graduate Research School Board to the Higher Degree Research Board effective from 28 July 2021 (AB/21-3/47).

2021 meeting dates

Tuesday 2 March
Tuesday 13 April
Tuesday 1 June
Tuesday 6 July
Tuesday 7 September
Tuesday 12 October
Tuesday 23 November (reserve)

Time: 9.30am to 11.30am
Location: To be confirmed, except for Tuesday 2 March, will be via Zoom.

Committee contact

Andrew Gardoll
Policy and Governance Support Officer
Tel: 02 9514 9770

Composition and membership

Composition Membership
Dean, Graduate Research School (Chair) Professor Joanne Tipper (acting)
Deputy Chair (an academic nominated from committee membership) Professor Didar Zowghi
Deputy Dean, Graduate Research School Professor Didar Zowghi
Director, Graduate Research School Yamini Sandiran
Director, Institute for Interactive Media and Learning, or nominee Associate Professor Franziska Trede (nominee)
University Librarian, or nominee Sally Scholfield (nominee)
Senior Indigenous academic nominated by the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Leadership and Engagement) Distinguished Professor Larissa Behrendt, AO
One nominee who has academic responsibility for graduate research matters from each faculty (or equivalent entity) which confers graduate research degrees, nominated by the respective deans or equivalent Associate Professor Bhuva Narayan, Arts and Social Sciences

Associate Professor David Goldbaum, Business

Associate Professor Toby Slade, Design, Architecture and Building

Professor David McGloin, Engineering and Information Technology

Professor Rob Duffield, Health

Professor Isabella Alexander, Law

Dr Charles Cranfield, Science

Dr Martin Bliemel, Transdisciplinary Innovation

Dr Kirsty Kitto, Connected Intelligence Centre

Professor Chris Riedy, Institute for Sustainable Futures
Two graduate research degree students elected by and from graduate research degree students of the university Briony Johnston

Melissa Miao
Co-opted members on the basis of their skills and experience as appropriate Associate Professor Alex Munt

On the recommendation of the chair, the committee has the power to approve the co-option of members on the basis of their skills and experience as appropriate.

Terms of reference

The Board provides oversight for graduate research training and supervision at UTS. The Board has responsibility for considering the following matters and making recommendations to Academic Board or the applicable decision-making authority, as specified in UTS Delegations, Rules and policies:

  1. graduate research strategy, including making recommendations on strategic priorities for graduate research, and research training; and monitoring and reporting on the achievement of strategic objectives against agreed targets
  2. graduate research quality, performance and benchmarking, including:
    1. providing advice on the development of the university’s graduate research programs culture, communication and profile
    2. providing advice on graduate research matters relating to the admission, enrolment, supervision and examination of students, development and engagement programs for students and supervisors, and accreditation of new and existing degrees, or removal of accreditation of degrees
    3. enhancing and improving student experience, and encouraging excellence in graduate research through innovation and improvement, taking into account national and international benchmarks, use of emerging technologies and new approaches to graduate research
    4. developing, overseeing, monitoring and reviewing the qualitative, and quantitative measures of evaluating performance and quality assurance in graduate research, and recommending actions to improve performance in, and quality of graduate research
  3. graduate research integrity, including promoting, preserving and upholding research integrity for graduate research degrees by providing advice on the supporting UTS governance instruments
  4. graduate research management and support, including approving the guidelines and selection process for key university internal graduate research funding schemes
  5. graduate research policies and guidelines, including developing, monitoring and reviewing
  6. graduate research risk management, assessing and monitoring risks to the graduate research activities, and reporting on these risks
  7. graduate research scholarships, approving Conditions of Award and procedures related to ranking and recommending applicants for graduate research scholarships
  8. conferral of award, establishing and receiving reports from a Thesis Examination Committee for providing advice on developing, overseeing, monitoring, reviewing policies and processes in relation to graduate research thesis examination, and considering faculties’ recommendations for, the conferral of doctoral and masters by research awards, and
  9. conduct such other business related to the Graduate Research School as the Chair, Graduate Research School Board sees fit.

Membership term

The length of committee membership terms will be two years for staff and one year for students, consistent with the term of membership for elected members of Academic Board.

Number of meetings

Minimum of six scheduled meetings per year.


The quorum shall be one-half of the current members of the committee, if one-half is not a whole number, the next higher whole number shall be used.

Vacant positions on the committee do not count toward the total membership of which one-half is required to reach a quorum.