University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Admissions Non-disclosure Appeals
Connected Intelligence Centre
Courses Accreditation
Graduate Research School
Graduate Research Students' Appeals
Institute for Sustainable Futures
Professional Experience Appeals
Teaching and Learning
Roles and contact
Responsible Academic Officers
Academic freedom
Indigenous committees
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Research Committee

A committee of Academic Board

The Research Committee (the committee) is a university-wide advisory and consultative committee, established by Academic Board. It deals with matters pertaining to the strategic planning and policy directions for research as well as the development of the university’s research culture and research profile.

2020 meeting dates

Date Time Location (Broadway)
Wednesday 19 February 9.30am to 11.30am room 26, level 4A, Chancellery, Building 1 (CB01.4A.26)
Tuesday 28 April 9.30am to 11.30am room 60, level 21, Building 1 (CB01.21.60)
Wednesday 5 August 9.30am to 11.30am room 26, level 4A, Chancellery, Building 1 (CB01.4A.26)
Monday 26 October 9.30am to 11.30am room 26, level 4A, Chancellery, Building 1 (CB01.4A.26)

Committee contact

Elbreg Zwaan
Senior Governance Support Officer
Tel: 02 9514 9811

Composition and membership

Position Membership Term
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) as Chair Professor Kate McGrath Ex officio
Deputy Chair (associate dean (research) or equivalent, nominated from committee membership) Professor Alaina Ammit 1 January 2020 to 31 December 2020
Ex officio members
Chief Information Officer, or nominee Susan Gibson (nominee) Ex officio
Dean, Graduate Research School Professor Lori Lockyer Ex officio
Director, Research Office Martin Lloyd Ex officio
Manager, Research Integrity and Research Programs Louise Wheeler Ex officio
Nominated and appointed members
Two associate deans (research) or equivalent, nominated from the cohort of associate deans (research) (which includes Jumbunna, Sustainable Futures and Public Policy and Governance institutes) Professor Alaina Ammit

Professor Michael Blumenstein
1 June 2019 to 31 December 2020
One participant from UTS Indigenous community, to be appointed by the Chair following a call for expressions of interest Danielle Montgomery 1 June 2019 to 31 December 2020
Elected members (with no more than two from any one faculty)
One member elected by and from the professoriate and associate professoriate (level D and E) of the university Associate Professor Jianxin Wang 1 June 2019 to 31 December 2020
One member elected by and from the academic staff (levels A, B, C) of the university Ellen Rock 1 September 2020 to 31 December 2020
One professional staff member, elected by and from professional staff members of the university Mitra Gusheh 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2020
One graduate research degree student, elected by and from graduate research degree students of the university Sarah Thomas Broome 1 January 2020 to 31 December 2020
Co-opted members
Co-opted members on the basis of their skills and experience as appropriate

On the recommendation of the chair, the committee has the power to approve the co-option of members on the basis of their skills and experience as appropriate.

Terms of reference

  1. The Committee provides academic oversight for research at UTS. The Committee has responsibility for considering the following matters and making recommendations to Academic Board or the applicable decision-making authority, as specified in UTS Delegations, Rules and policies:
    1. research strategy, including making recommendations on strategic planning directions for research and intellectual property, as it relates to the university’s research activities
    2. research quality, impact and performance, including providing advice on the development of the university’s research culture, communication and research profile and monitoring performance against the University’s strategic research objectives
    3. research integrity, including providing advice on policy issues related to the Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research and the supporting UTS governance instruments
    4. research policies and guidelines, including developing, monitoring and reviewing research policies and their effectiveness and monitoring the operation of the university’s research strengths governance instruments, and
    5. research risk management, assessing and monitoring risks to the research activities, and reporting on these risks.
  2. The Graduate Research School Board (GRSB) has responsibility for matters relating to higher degree by research (HDR) student training, supervision, candidature and policy. The Research Committee will work with the GRSB to provide governance oversight of the activities related to HDR students and supervisors.

Membership term

The length of committee membership terms will be two years for staff and one year for students, consistent with the term of membership for elected members of Academic Board.

Number of meetings

Minimum of six scheduled meetings per year.


The quorum shall be one-half of the current members of the committee, if one-half is not a whole number, the next higher whole number shall be used.

Vacant positions on the committee do not count toward the total membership of which one-half is required to reach a quorum.