University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Academic freedom
Meeting dates
Town Hall meetings
Roles and contact
Committees of Council
Audit and Risk
Commercial Activities
Honorary Awards
Joint Subcommittee of Audit and Risk and Finance
Physical Infrastructure
Student/Council Liaison
Indigenous committees
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Finance Committee

The Finance Committee advises Council on matters relating to the distribution and supervision of university finances and acts on behalf of Council in areas of delegated authority.

2020 meeting dates

Thursday 6 February
Tuesday 31 March
Tuesday 19 May
Tuesday 21 July
Monday 21 September
Tuesday 3 November

Time: meetings commence at 1pm.


Position Member Current term
Chair Dr John Laker, AO 1 November 2018 to 31 October 2020
Member (Council) Catherine Livingstone, AO 1 November 2018 to 31 October 2020
Member (Council) Dianne Hill 27 November 2019 to 31 October 2020
External member John Leotta 1 November 2018 to 31 October 2020
External member Matthew McLellan 1 November 2018 to 31 October 2020
Vice-Chancellor or nominee Professor Attila Brungs ex officio

Positions on the committee are in accordance with its composition.

Committee contact

Matt Robinson
Senior Governance Support Officer
Tel: 02 9514 7550

Terms of reference

The Committee shall be responsible to Council for the provision of advice on financial matters and to act on its behalf within certain delegated authorities, whilst recognising the Vice-Chancellor’s responsibility for management of the University.

  1. To make recommendations to Council on the following matters:
    1. the annual budgets, including the capital works budget, and subsequent amendments to budgets of the university proposed by the Vice-Chancellor
    2. the financial aspects of corporate and functional policies
    3. long-term financial matters with a view to sustaining and enhancing the financial health of the university
    4. investment matters
    5. any matter raised by Council
    6. any other matter that the Committee regards as pertinent.
  2. To authorise expenditure within limits set by Council, either by specific delegation or under Council's Delegations.


The Finance Committee consists of the following positions:

  • Chair — an external member of Council appointed for expertise in financial matters
  • Four other members, of whom:
    • all should have strategic financial expertise and experience
    • at least two should be members of Council with qualifications and experience related to the operations of the university
  • Vice-Chancellor or nominee (ex-officio)