University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Academic freedom
Meeting dates
Town Hall meetings
Roles and contact
Committees of Council
Audit and Risk
Commercial Activities
Honorary Awards
Joint Subcommittee of Audit and Risk and Finance
Physical Infrastructure
Student/Council Liaison
Indigenous committees
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Honorary Awards Committee

The Honorary Awards Committee advises Council on policy relating to honorary awards and recommends nominations for honorary awards.

2020 meeting dates

Monday 19 October, commencing at 4pm


Position Member Current term
Chancellor (Chair) Catherine Livingstone, AO ex-officio
Deputy Chancellor Dr John Laker, AO ex-officio
Vice-Chancellor or nominee Professor Attila Brungs ex-officio
A Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Andrew Parfitt ex-officio
University Secretary William Paterson ex-officio
Chair, Academic Board Professor Joanne Gray 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2020
External member of Council Dr Ron Sandland, AM 1 November 2018 to 31 October 2020
External member of Council Tony Tobin 1 November 2018 to 31 October 2020
External member of Council Michelene Collopy 27 November 2019 to 31 October 2020
Academic staff member of Council Professor Larissa Behrendt, AO 1 November 2019 to 31 October 2020

Positions on the committee are in accordance with its composition.

Committee contact

Susan Harris
Tel: 02 9514 7659

Terms of reference

  1. To develop, review and recommend to Council a policy covering all types of honorary awards
  2. to consider nominations for honorary awards
  3. to recommend to Council nominations for honorary awards according to the policy and procedures adopted by Council.


The Honorary Awards Committee consists of the following positions:

  • Chancellor (Chair)
  • Deputy Chancellor
  • Vice-Chancellor or nominee
  • a Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • University Secretary
  • Chair, Academic Board
  • three external members of Council
  • one academic staff member of Council