University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Academic freedom
Meeting dates
Town Hall meetings
Roles and contact
Committees of Council
Audit and Risk
Commercial Activities
Honorary Awards
Joint Subcommittee of Audit and Risk and Finance
Physical Infrastructure
Student/Council Liaison
Indigenous committees
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee recommends to Council candidates whom Council may, either nominate to the Minister for appointment as Council members, or appoint as Council members.

2021 meeting dates

Meetings of the Nominations Committee are held as required.


Position Member Current term
Chancellor (Chair) Catherine Livingstone, AO ex-officio
Vice-Chancellor or nominee Professor Attila Brungs ex-officio
Member (Minister) Tony Tobin ongoing
Member (Council) Vacant 1 November 2020 to 31 October 2022

Positions on the committee are in accordance with its composition.

Committee contact

Deborah Crook
Executive Officer (Governance Support)
Tel: 02 9514 1240

Terms of reference

The terms of reference for the Nominations Committee are as indicated in Division 3 of the University By-Law.


The composition of the Nominations Committee will consist of the following persons:

(a) the Chancellor,
(b) the Vice-Chancellor,
(c) three persons appointed to the committee by the Council of whom:
(i) one must be a member appointed by the Minister, and
(ii) one must be a member appointed by the Council.

A person referred to in category (c) must not be the holder of an office in respect of which the committee is convening (unless the person is not seeking reappointment).