University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Academic freedom
Meeting dates
Town Hall meetings
Roles and contact
Committees of Council
Audit and Risk
Commercial Activities
Honorary Awards
Joint Subcommittee of Audit and Risk and Finance
Physical Infrastructure
Student/Council Liaison
Indigenous committees
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee advises Council on the Vice-Chancellor’s and Provost’s performance.

Meeting dates

The Remuneration Committee meets when required.


Position Member Current term
Chancellor (Chair) Catherine Livingstone, AO ex-officio
Deputy Chancellor Dr John Laker, AO ex-officio
Member appointed by Council Tony Tobin 1 November 2020 to 31 October 2022

Positions on the committee are in accordance with its composition.

Committee contact

Richard Birrell
Deputy Director (Corporate Governance) and
Deputy University Secretary
Tel: 02 9514 1249

Terms of reference

  1. To receive the Chancellor’s recommendations regarding the remuneration of the Vice-Chancellor, based on the Chancellor’s review of the Vice-Chancellor’s performance
  2. To receive the Vice-Chancellor’s recommendations regarding the remuneration of the Provost, based on the Vice-Chancellor’s review of the Provost’s performance
  3. Having regard to the recommendations received from the Chancellor and the Vice-Chancellor, to determine remuneration practice and outcomes for the Vice-Chancellor and Provost, and report to Council as appropriate.


The Remuneration Committee consists of the following positions:

  • Chancellor (Chair)
  • Deputy Chancellor
  • one person appointed by Council, whose term of appointment is not about to expire.