University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Academic freedom
Indigenous committees
VC's Indigenous Advisory
VC's Indigenous Strategies
Indigenous Research
Indigenous Teaching and Learning
Wingara Indigenous Employment
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Committee

About the committee

The Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Committee is the primary source of Indigenous consultation and advice regarding the progression of matters contained within the Indigenous Policy. The committee may advise the university on Indigenous education, employment, and social and cultural matters relevant to the progression of the policy.

The Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Committee reports directly to the Vice-Chancellor and refers any proposed changes to the committee’s terms of reference and composition directly to the Vice-Chancellor for decision.

2022 meeting dates

Wednesday 13 July
Tuesday 6 December

Time: 9.30am to 11.30am
Location: Boardroom, level 17, building 2, Broadway (CB02.17.130) and via Zoom

Committee contact

Jenny Luong
Senior Governance Support Officer (Electoral Officer)
Tel: 02 9514 1235

Composition and membership

All members of the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Committee will be Indigenous people external to, and not currently in the employ of, the university. Members will be appointed by the Vice-Chancellor, on the recommendation of the Chair, in consultation with the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Leadership and Engagement).

Composition Membership Current term
Indigenous member of Council (Chair) or, where there is no Indigenous member of Council, a Chair appointed by the Vice-Chancellor Distinguished Professor Larissa Behrendt, AO, member of UTS Council Chair
Up to 10 (and no less than five) external Indigenous people, drawn from the Indigenous community, industry and/or the higher education sector Emeritus Professor Janet Mooney, Institute for Positive Psychology and Education, Australian Catholic University

Nathan Moran, Chief Executive Officer, Metropolitan Local Aboriginal Land Council

Professor Robert Morgan, Founding Director, Jumbunna Institute for Indigenous Education and Research

Professor Mark Rose, Executive Director, Indigenous Strategy and Education, La Trobe University

Professor Juanita Sherwood, Pro Vice Chancellor First Nations Engagement, Office of Indigenous Engagement, Charles Sturt University

Ms Catherine Trindall, President, NSW Aboriginal Education Consultative Group
until 31 December 2022

In attendance at meetings

  • Provost
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Leadership and Engagement)
  • Associate Dean (Indigenous Research)
  • Associate Dean (Indigenous Teaching and Learning)
  • Director, Indigenous Students and Community Engagement
  • Manager, Indigenous Employment
  • other staff, at the invitation of the Chair.

Terms of reference

The Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Committee will:

  • monitor the university’s progression of the objectives contained in the Indigenous Policy
  • advise the Vice-Chancellor on Indigenous education, employment, cultural and/or Indigenous community matters that may assist the university in achieving the objectives contained in the Indigenous Policy, and
  • work in partnership with the university to promote UTS within the Indigenous community and its networks.

Procedural matters

Term of office

The term of office for a member of the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Committee other than the Chair is two years.

Where the Chair is the Indigenous member of Council, the Chair’s term will cease when the Chair’s membership of Council ceases. Where the Chair is not an Indigenous member of Council, the Chair’s term of office will be two years, with re-appointment at the discretion of the Vice-Chancellor.

Review of membership

The composition and membership of the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Committee will be reviewed periodically by the Chair in accordance with the procedures approved by the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee and amended from time to time.


The quorum shall be one-half of the current members of the committee, if one-half is not a whole number, the next higher whole number shall be used.

Vacant positions on the committee do not count toward the total membership of which one-half is required to reach a quorum.

Frequency of meetings

The Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Committee will usually meet at least twice per year.