University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Academic freedom
Indigenous committees
VC's Indigenous Advisory
VC's Indigenous Strategies
Indigenous Research
Indigenous Teaching and Learning
Wingara Indigenous Employment
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee

About the committee

The Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee is the governing committee of the university in relation to the development and progression of UTS’s Indigenous education and employment commitments, as set out in the Indigenous Policy.

The committee will develop and endorse the following strategies:

The committee reports to:

The following sub-committees report to the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee:

2021 meeting dates

Tuesday 22 June
Wednesday 3 November

Time: 9.30am to 11.30am
Location: Chancellery Boardroom, level 4A, building 1, Broadway

Committee contact

Jenny Luong
Senior Governance Support Officer (Electoral Officer)
Tel: 02 9514 1235

Composition and membership

Membership should be inclusive of:

  • suitably senior UTS staff members (executives, deans, directors) with relevant Key Performance Indicators attached to their roles
  • a significant number of Indigenous staff members who hold key positions at the university
  • Indigenous students.

While an Indigenous majority may be difficult to achieve, Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee membership should have significant Indigenous membership, comprised primarily of Indigenous people in significant and strategic positions within UTS. (Indigenous members are noted with an asterisk (*).)

Composition Membership
Provost (Chair) or a nominee from among the Deputy Vice-Chancellor members as Chair in the Provost’s absence* Professor Andrew Parfitt
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Corporate Services) Christine Burns
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education and Students) Professor Shirley Alexander
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Innovation and Enterprise) Professor Glenn Wightwick
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (International) Professor Iain Watt
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Kate McGrath
Director, Centre for the Advancement of Indigenous Knowledges Vacant
Executive Director, Social Justice Verity Firth
Director, Equity and Diversity Unit Tracie Conroy
Director, Human Resources Unit (HRU) Jennifer Lacoon
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Leadership and Engagement) Professor Michael McDaniel, AO *
Director, Jumbunna Research Distinguished Professor Larissa Behrendt, AO *
Director, Planning and Quality Unit Jacqui Wise
Chair, Academic Management Committee To be advised
Advancement Manager, Office of the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Leadership and Engagement) Brigette Sancho
Deputy Director, Students and Community Engagement, Jumbunna Maree Graham *
Manager, Indigenous Employment, Office of the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Leadership and Engagement) Dr Berice Anning *
Two senior Indigenous academics (at professor or associate professor level), from different faculties/units, to be appointed by the Vice-Chancellor (in consultation with the Chair) following a call for expressions of interest Professor John Evans *

Professor Robynne Quiggin *
One Indigenous student representative to be appointed by the Vice-Chancellor (in consultation with the Chair) following a call for expressions of interest Vanessa Myers *
All Coordinators of Indigenous Away From Base (AFB) courses Tom Evans *
Co-opted members as appropriate to the work of the Committee, as appointed by the Chair. Professor Susan Page *

Professor Daryle Rigney *

Terms of reference

In progressing Indigenous education and employment across UTS, the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee will:

  • progress the university’s Indigenous objectives as set out in the Indigenous Policy
  • consider any matter relating to Indigenous education and employment
  • develop, endorse and monitor the progress of the UTS Indigenous Education and Research and Wingara Indigenous Employment strategies and related university Key Performance Indicators
  • establish, as necessary, sub-committees and/or working groups for the purpose of providing specialist advice on any Indigenous matter relevant to the committee
  • refer for action or advice any relevant matter to UTS Indigenous sub-committees or working groups
  • seek advice from the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Committee on any matter relevant to the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee
  • advise university equity committees as appropriate on Indigenous equity-related matters.

Procedural matters

Term of office

The term of office for a member of the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee, other than an ex officio member, will be two years.


The quorum shall be one-half of the current members of the committee, if one-half is not a whole number, the next higher whole number shall be used.

Vacant positions on the committee do not count toward the total membership of which one-half is required to reach a quorum.

Frequency of meetings

The Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee will meet at least twice per year.