University of Technology Sydney UTS Governance Support Unit

GSU home
About GSU
Academic Board
Academic freedom
Indigenous committees
VC's Indigenous Advisory
VC's Indigenous Strategies
Indigenous Research
Indigenous Teaching and Learning
Wingara Indigenous Employment
Official UTS publications
Privacy at UTS
Right to information
Student misconduct and appeals
Style guide
UTS Annual Report
Site map
Other GSU websites
•  Elections
•  Legislation, Rules and Policies
•  Records and archives
Indigenous Research Committee

About the committee

The Indigenous Research Committee is a forum for the development and progression of Indigenous research across UTS. The UTS Indigenous research priorities include:

  • increasing Indigenous staff and student research capacity
  • increasing Indigenous higher degree by research student enrolment rates
  • improving Indigenous higher degree by research student retention and completion rates
  • promoting the protection of Indigenous cultural knowledge
  • encouraging international Indigenous research links
  • ensuring UTS adopts best practice principles and processes in relation to Indigenous research.

The Indigenous Research Committee reports to the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee.

2022 meeting dates

Wednesday 2 March
Wednesday 1 June
Wednesday 24 August
Monday 14 November

Time: 9.30am to 11.30am
Location: Boardroom, level 17, building 2, Broadway (CB02.17.130)

Committee contact

Jenny Luong
Senior Governance Support Officer (Electoral Officer)
Tel: 02 9514 1235

Composition and membership

Composition Membership Current term
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) (Chair) Professor Kate McGrath Ex officio
Director, Jumbunna Research (Deputy Chair) Distinguished Professor Larissa Behrendt, AO Ex officio
Associate deans (Indigenous), or appropriate senior members of Indigenous academic staff where no Associate Dean (Indigenous) exists Professor Heidi Norman (Arts and Social Sciences)

Professor Robynne Quiggin (Business)

Vacant (DAB)

Vacant (FEIT)

Professor Megan Williams (Health)

Vacant (Law)

Professor Chris Matthews (Science)

Vacant (TDI)
Ex officio
Dean, Graduate Research School Professor Helene de Burgh-Woodman Ex officio
Director, Research Office Julian Zipparo (Acting) Ex officio
Chair, UTS Ethics Committee Professor Prabhu Sivabalan Ex officio
University Librarian Michael Gonzalez Ex officio
One associate dean (research), to be appointed by the Chair Professor Michelle Baddeley 25 January 2022 to 31 December 2023
Three level A, B, and C Indigenous academic staff, one of which must be an early career researcher, and one of which must be a mid-career researcher, to be appointed by the Chair (in consultation with the Chair, Indigenous Research) following a call for expressions of interest Michael Bryden

Treena Clark
20 April 2022 to 31 December 2023
One Indigenous HDR student to be appointed by the Chair in consultation with the Director of Research and Academic Programs, Jumbunna following a call for expressions of interest Jake Gordon 18 February 2022 to 31 December 2023
Manager, Indigenous Employment, Office of the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Leadership and Engagement) Dr Berice Anning Ex officio
Co-opted members as deemed appropriate to the progression of Section 4: Indigenous Research of the Indigenous Education Strategy and determined by the Chair Lachlan McDaniel

Associate Professor Jason De Santolo
Until 31 December 2023

Terms of reference

The Indigenous Research Committee will:

  • consider, develop and progress Indigenous research at UTS
  • recommend practical initiatives for inclusion into relevant sections of the Indigenous Education and Research Strategy
  • coordinate and implement to initiatives aimed at progressing Indigenous research across UTS, and
  • provide advice or action as appropriate any relevant matters referred to it by the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee.


Procedural matters

Term of office

The term of office for a member of the Indigenous Research Committee, other than an ex-officio member, will be two years.

Review of membership

The composition and membership of the Indigenous Research Committee will be reviewed periodically by the Chair in accordance with the procedures approved by the Vice-Chancellor’s Indigenous Strategies Committee and amended from time to time.


The quorum shall be one-half of the current members of the committee, if one-half is not a whole number, the next higher whole number shall be used.

Vacant positions on the committee do not count toward the total membership of which one-half is required to reach a quorum.

Frequency of meetings

The Indigenous Research Committee meets at least twice per year.